(Don’t) Tell Me That You Love Me

Don’t tell me that you love me

Unless you are prepared, by God’s grace

To never, ever leave me                                  

To stand forever in this place

 

Don’t tell me that you need me

Until you have discovered God’s enough

Then covenant yourself to me

For the easy and the tough

 

It’s not just the words that you say

With your lips

Be careful what you say with your life

 

Don’t tell me that you want me

Unless you give all of yourself to me

Don’t tell me I’m your only

If your actions speak differently.

 

I’m not asking for perfection

Even wedding bands have some dross

All I ask is that you seek redemption

On your knees at Jesus’ Cross.

 

It’s not just the words that you say

With your lips

Be careful what you say with your life.

 

My love, if you are ready to stand

And seal your promise with His grace

Then I will gladly give you my hand

And we’ll walk in a covenant embrace.

 

But until then,

Don’t tell me that you love me.

Don’t tell me that you need me

Don’t tell me that you want me.

In word or deed, until you’re ready.

Published in: on May 31, 2010 at 7:29 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2010/05/31/dont-tell-me-that-you-love-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

