What I Remember

What I Remember (Indiana Summer)

A white house on a green slope

Blue sky big as my dreams

Wispy clouds and milky horizons

That’s what I remember.

 

Gravel road and a rusty truck

Windows down, hot breeze blowin’

Singing bluegrass with the radio

That’s what I remember.

 

Back in the fields of Indiana

Where life was simple and I was me

Between the hillside and the meadow

That’s where I want to be.

 

Big swimmin’ hole and a tire swing

Couple of fish and a bunch of trees

Catching fireflies and trapping toads

That’s what I remember.

 

Sittin’ on the front porch step

Watching the blue sky turn to pink

Stars come out and crickets murmer

That’s what I remember.

 

Back in the fields of Indiana

Where life was simple and I was me

Between the hillside and the meadow

That’s where I want to be.

Published in: on August 19, 2009 at 7:15 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2009/08/19/what-i-remember/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like it!

    Moma

  2. How ’bout “lots o’ fish and a couple of trees”?……that’s what I’m talkin’ about.

  3. There no place like good ol’ Indiana! Where the corn grows as big as a horse and the stars point the way to heaven! It is always great to “back home again in Indiana, and the fields I used to roam.” Those words are from a famous Indiana song. I sing the “Back Home Again In Indiana” song, when I go across the boarder into Indiana. No matter where I go I will always be a Hoosier at heart. My Home Sweet Home!
    From your Hoosier Sister in Christ,

    ~Hava~


Leave a Reply

