How Will You Wait?

“Waiting is an art form. 

There is a kind of waiting that is good for the soul, it builds it stronger, purges it of all trifling thoughts, purifies the expectations, makes one more like Jesus Christ, and builds a mighty faith within. 

And there is another kind of waiting that deteriorates the souls, it turns one inward to self-pity, gross imaginations of impending disaster, anxiety and fear, discouragement, and ultimately despair.

 Ironically, the decision lies in our court as to which one of these two kinds of waiting we will experience.

The term that best describes this stretch is, “holy expectation.”  Our God is doing a wonderful work that all the earth may know that the Almighty Jehovah is faithful and true.”

-Eric Ludy-

 

What will you choose?

Will you let God use a season of waiting in your life to prepare you for His next step? Will you trust Him with all your heart, committing your way to Him, delighting yourself in Him?

Or will you let your fears, past hurts, worries, and external pressure mark this period of waiting? Will you falter and forget the proven faithfulness and loyal love of Our Almighty Jehovah?

It seems that I’ve been spending a lot of time in God’s waiting room the past year. And it seems that I’ve still got quite a bit of time to go in this room.

It is with great shame that I admit that I have been falling into the pattern of the 2nd type of waiting described above…the one of self-pity and inward focus, instead of joyful peace and eternal focus.

But, by God’s grace, I’m boldly stepping out of the slimy “slough of despond”, and diving deep into the crystal clear, refreshingly cool pool of God’s holy expectation.

 

“Do not fear, for I am with you; do no anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

“The steadfast of min You will keep in perfect peace, because he trusts in You. Trust in the LORD forever, for in God the LORD, we have an everlasting Rock.” Isaiah 26:3-4

“…you will rejoice in the LORD, you will glory in the Holy One of Israel.” Isaiah 41:16b

Published in: on June 28, 2009 at 5:17 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2009/06/28/how-will-you-wait/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful! The ability to ‘wait’ graciously could be called ‘faith.’ Fear should not be part of the equation when we are ‘trusting’ God. But I do have to encourage my own self with scriptures such as ‘let not your heart be troubled’ and ‘the battles is the Lords.’

    I am internetelias.wordpress.com

  2. I had a season of waiting. It was not easy, especially at first. The verse, ‘Be still and know I am God,’ resonated through me many times until I began to be still. Then God began to deal with me. Now 9 years later, I try daily to take time to be still. I don’t succeed every day, but my precious Father walks beside me anyway. Thank you for your encouraging word today.

  3. Patience, my young apprentice…

    Truly our lives are full of daily choices.
    Trust God or Trust me.
    Focus on God or Focus on me.
    Serve God or Serve me.
    Deny self or Deny God.

    Choose A.

  4. Thank you for this, dear friend.
    I needed it.
    And thanks for meeting for our Jesus Talk tonight.
    I really love and appreciate you!

  5. Back again. I read this today, and it really pushed the God’s-eye perspective in my face. I have been living in the 2nd perspective … not trusting God for my period of waiting.

    Thank you for this …


Leave a Reply

