Pure Joy

Pure.

Isn’t that a nice word? Makes one think of clean, cool water…of clear, open blue skies…of little girls giggling on sunny days…of people who can look you in the eye…of anything completely true, honest, lovely, whole. Anything that has no stain, no filth, no blemish, no grit, no tarnish, no additives, no subtractives….simple “unfooled around with”, as the famous orange juice campaign says. 

That’s the way Jesus wants our hearts and minds to be. Pure. Without any mark of the world on them. No sticky scum or dirty film on them. No pursuits, entertainments, or desires that lesson our passion for the Lord. A heart that wants to please its God more than anything else. A heart and mind purely and totally devoted to God and His truths.  

It’s never an easy choice–purity is not a waltz in a field of white daisies. It’s a tightrope over a pit of hungry alligator-infested slime. That sounds scary, doesn’t it? (impurity–sin– really is that nasty to our Lord.) But we will win! Romans 7:14-24 really matches the struggle .

Don’t stop reading there! Read 7:25, 8:1-8.

Wow.

*I want to do A, but I do B, and I don’t want to do B, but I do it anyway.

*God wants me to do A, and I think I do , too, but I can’t!

*I’m trapped by this struggle–

*Yet, I have victory in Christ!

*I will have victory over this war, thanks to the sacrifice of Christ!

In these passages, there is a focus upon our minds. (try reading the passage and inserting “thoughts” for each reference to the mind.) Look at the comparison:

**Thoughts, emotions, daydreams, writings, meditations, etc. set on OUR priorities, perspectives, and passions is DEATH.

**Thoughts, emotions, daydreams, writings, meditations, etc. set on GOD’S priorites, perspectives, and passions is LIFE and PEACE. Note also that it says that the mind set on the flesh “does not subject itself of the law of God, for it is not even able to do so, and those who are in the flesh cannot please God.” There it is. Plain and simple. So long as we hang on to ourselves by indulging in what WE want (have our minds set on the flesh), there will be no subjection to His commandments and His ways. No surrender. No life. No peace. And worst of all: no pleasing God. Deep in your heart, beyond all the cluttering, clogged wishes, what is the deepest desire, rooted strong and growing still?

To please God, isn’t it?

May Psalm 19:14 be the cry of our souls: “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” (NIV) Paraphrased: May the things I say and the things I think glorify You, my Supporter and Savior. The meditations of our hearts greatly affect the words of our mouths, too. (Like it says multiple times in the gospels–out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks.)

Let’s be pure for Christ. Completely set-apart for Him, even in tough choices. He wants all of us. In such devotion we find the truest, deepest, longest-lasting joy.

Pure joy.

Published in: on March 25, 2009 at 9:05 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2009/03/25/pure-joy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Well, this sounds familiar. 🙂 …. I guess this tells you I haven’t gotten on your blog in a while. 🙂 …. You wrote most of this post in an e-mail to me a couple weeks ago. Great to read it again! Thank you for the thoughts!


Leave a Reply

