Mother, may I?

You know you are “motherish” when:

With one “just-what-do-you-think-you’re-doing” look, you can tell a friend and coworker an entire paragraph…today’s  went as such: “Al-ec…you’re drinking that? Do you know how crummy that sweet tea is going to make you feel? How much sugar did you already have today?”

Friend and coworker responds with: “I come to work and all day you’re my mom…can you just stop being my mom for a minute?!”

Another friend tells you repeatedly (3 or more times) in one visit that “you are such a mom!” (thanks, Mical Marie!)

While customers sample cheese, you absentmindedly look at the clock and realize that it’s 4:00, and your instinct is to say, “Now, don’t spoil your supper.” (true story!)

And a host of other things…but, goodness, how often I hear sentences directed at me that end in “mom.”

 “Ok, mom…whatever you say, mom…you’re not my mom!”

Lest any of you get the wrong impression, let me just say that this does not bother me, I actually find it rather amusing, and overall, I count it a good thing. After all, motherhood is one of the highest callings for a woman.

But it is rather funny for this 17-year old lassie to be considered a mother figure. Oh well….eat your lunch, pick up your mess, and make sure you drink plenty of water. And don’t forget to re-tie your left shoelace!

Published in: on February 27, 2009 at 8:53 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2009/02/27/mother-may-i/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ha! Funny story! 🙂
    First … why would you forbid anyone to drink sweet tea?! Oh my goodness! Heaven in a cup! How could you keep anyone from such a luscious drink? … Way to go, Alec! 😉
    Secondly and lastly … do I call you mom all that much? Ha! Too funny! Didn’t even realize it! 😉 … People call me mom too. We can be moms together! Hurrah! 😉

  2. Look at all those smilies! Too much fun, indeed! 🙂

  3. Ya know, I just remembered I was just like you in high school. My “friends” all accused me of being too motherish. They’d tell me to leave them alone…”you’re not my mother…”
    NOW I know why the Lord gave me a bunch of boys! I had to have an outlet.:-)


Leave a Reply

