The Importance of Being Honest

This is a response to my father’s comment on the prior post.  Instead of leaving my note as a comment, I’m going to post it up here so all may enjoy (?).  

Dad, you are right about the importance of humility.
Interesting point to consider: how does one balance humility and conviction?  Grace for those who disagree but yet a firm belief that you are the only one who is right? 
Perhaps it boils down to realizing “we” are not right, but God is.  It’s not a matter of I know this…I think this…” but rather “God says this…Jesus shows us that…”
How can true fellowship be achieved without unselfishness and humility?  Here is something I posted about that on Rachel’s blog:

How can we grow and “get anywhere” if we can’t be ourselves or really know who we are talking to? “Letting down your guard” is hard, but is so worth it!
Knowing that you are real makes me want to be real, too…..not just in my writing over at my blog, but also in prayer and fellowship with other believers, and in just everyday life and conversations. I find that a lot of times when I feel that I have nothing in common with somebody, if I am honest and humble, we find common ground because they are willing to admit the truth when I am, too.

When we get past the point of pretentiousness, we can start to really encourage each other in the Lord.

I would counter that that is what true biblical fellowship (is that what you would call “Real Church”, Dad?) is all about–growing in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ. 

Yup, just like I said, growing in the knowledge and respect of Alex and her great spirituality.

Just like it says in Matthew 5:16: (Italics my emphasis, of course.)

“Let your light shine before men (especially those who are important and whose repect you want) in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven and want to be good friends with you and look to you for advice.”

Doesn’t your Bible put it that way, too? 😉

Humility, honesty, unselfishness.  (See James 3:13-18.) Crucify the rotten, egotistical, hard-shelled narcissistic lifestyle, and revel in the new, fresh, liberated Life we have in Christ!  We have to become disgusted with who we are to be able to truly understand our need for redemption. (More on this topic in a later post.)

“Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!” (Romans 7:24-25)

We’re free–let’s act like it!  Let us be honest, humble, sincere, genuine, merciful, gracious, non-brats–with both our brothers and sisters in Christ and with strangers to the faith.

Published in: on August 26, 2008 at 10:20 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2008/08/26/the-importance-of-being-honest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I loved what you said on Rachel’s blog. I think we often feel like we need to have it ALL together before we can share our faith with people. I think we want to be free of all our warts before we show them The One who is perfect. Why would anyone want to trust someone who can’t fix ME? Talk about narcissism.
    I can’t put into words what I’m trying to say. I think I’ll have to think about this some more and come back after I get some sleep.

  2. Good point. We think that if we show people how God has made us totally perfect, they will be more likely to come to Him. But I think that the very opposite can be true. When we show our brokeness, reveal our weakness, and strip off the wallpaper, people see how God can restore. His great power is made more evident in contrast to our own depravity. So when we are honest and humble, people see more of Christ.
    I think I see what you’re trying to say. Please expand if you desire (and are rested enough); I am always interested in building upon the ideas presented in any post.
    Thanks for taking the time to comment–it means a lot to me that my blog affects people, and it challenges me to remain humble and continue writing for God’s glory and not mine.

    Alex

  3. I’m a little behind on my blogging.

    Yup – I think that true fellowship is likely rarely expereinced as we have exchanged that for something more official looking, more distant and much safer.


Leave a Reply

