Good food!

Here is one of our favorite recipes!  I think we eat it at least once a month, if not twice.  We call it “Hans’ Salsa” because he likes it so much.  It’s quick, spicy, and a deliciously light & cool summer meal.

1 can black-eyed peas (rinsed and drained)

2 cans black beans (rinsed and drained)

1 can shoepeg corn (drained)

48 oz. salsa (hot or mild, as you like it)

1 chopped green bell pepper

1 jalepeno pepper, chopped and seeded (you can also use canned–just don’t toss the entire can in!)

1 envelope Italian salad dressing mix (the powder stuff)

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder.

Mix it all together!  You can cook the beans and and corn first to be safe.  Then just add the rest!  Pop it in the fridge until you are ready to eat–the longer it sits, the better. (Within reason; I wouldn’t recommend 3 years.)  This salsa is even better the next day, which is really nice.  That way, you can make a big batch of it in the morning, and then eat it for supper that night and for lunch/dinner the next day.  It is also a fabulous way to take veggies to work–just make sure nobody gets to close to you and your garlic breath.  🙂

Speaking of, I took this to work the other day, and Willy told me that it “looks like something my mom would make.” If your mom does decide to make it, Willy,  I’m sure that a Strawberry/Spinach smoothie would work splendidly shake to cool off your tongue.  🙂

Alex

P.S. This weather is fabulous, isn’t it? (For any out-of-towners, central Indiana is experiencing fall-like temps this morning. Ahhhh.)

Published in: on August 12, 2008 at 7:03 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2008/08/12/good-food/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OK-THIS is going on the menu this week! It looks great! I think I’ll make hummus and pita chips to go along with it.
    Do you any more veggie recipes to share Alex?
    And..I think I will make a Strawberry/Spinach smoothie for dessert.:-)

  2. Great! Let me know how it turns out.
    Yup, we like to serve it with some form of chips (either corn tortillas toasted with olive oil and sea salt, or a bag of lime Tostitos–it depends on how the day went.)
    Oh yes, I have recipes out my ear. I’ll continue posting our “greatest [herbivorous] hits.”
    Ha, I have so many recipes and have such fun cooking, that I reckon my poor husband will never get the same thing twice. “Honey, can we PLEASE have something old for dinner? I liked what you made three months ago…”
    “But….I have so many new things to try! Grapefruit/orange/lime salsa on top of grilled swordfish, homemade pesto on pitas, sun-dried tomato/cream cheese omlettes, etc., etc…..”
    “Alex, sweetie, can we please have meatloaf?!”
    “Well, only if I can make an orange marmalade/peppercorn glaze.”


Leave a Reply

