To be…or not to be [like Christ]?

Wednesday night at Bible study, the speaker laid forth a very interesting point.  The topic was disobedience and its radix, which is selfishness.  He used 1 Samuel 15 as his base story, and showed how Saul let his fear of the people and his personal interests become more important to him than what the Lord instructed him to do. 

The speaker encapsulated the issue quite aptly and succintly as: “Don’t strive to be liked more than to be like Christ.”

 Ouch!

So true, however.  The more I focus on what other people are thinking about me, the more my goals for the day turn to impressing them and less on glorifying God. 

May we keep our eyes upon Jesus, knowing that living for Him is worth far more than anybody’s admiration or praise!

After all, people come and go, their words come and go, but Christ and His word are everlasting.

Published in: on July 21, 2008 at 7:02 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2008/07/21/60/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Alex –

    How was your weekend? I enjoyed reading your latest post. You may enjoy this quote by Pascal. I bet you’d enjoy his Pensees.

    Ben

    “We do not content ourselves with the life we have in ourselves and in
    our own being; we desire to live an imaginary life in the mind of
    others, and for this purpose we endeavour to shine. We labour
    unceasingly to adorn and preserve this imaginary existence and neglect
    the real. And if we possess calmness, or generosity, or truthfulness,
    we are eager to make it known, so as to attach these virtues to that
    imaginary existence. We would rather separate them from ourselves to
    join them to it; and we would willingly be cowards in order to acquire
    the reputation of being brave. A great proof of the nothingness of our
    being, not to be satisfied with the one without the other, and to
    renounce the one for the other! For he would be infamous who would not
    die to preserve his honour.” ~ Blaise Pascal

  2. Hey Ben!
    Thanks for reading. My weekend was great!

    That is a very apropos quote. Thanks for sharing it! As always, you keep me thinking.
    Mom read it over my shoulder, and she even got something out of Pascal’s ponderings.
    Although I am still the freak of the family, at least Momma and I found some common intellectual ground.

    Thanks again for commenting! (or as Rachel Hassler would put it, “validating my existence.”)

    Alex

  3. Validating your existence indeed. I’ve heard of existentialists (I experience, therefore I am), pragmatists (I do, therefore I am), narcissists (I enjoy, therefore I am) and Descartes: Cogito, ergo sum – but this has to be the first “people respond to my blog, therefore I am”. Maybe you could begin your own philosophical movement grounding the essence of man in blog responses? It would certainly be interesting.

    Don’t worry about being the freak of the family. Bailey and I have long held the self-appointed identities of “overexcited geeks with delusions of relevance.” Gradually you will wear them down and they will join you, perhaps a bit reluctantly, but they will join you. Just don’t forget the balancing wisdom of another great philosopher:
    “It is more fun to talk with someone who doesn’t use long, difficult words but rather short, easy words like “What about lunch?”
    – Winnie the Pooh


Leave a Reply

