Love has Come!

Sometimes I struggle.  My own desires take on too much prominence…Things don’t go “my way”…Others get do things that I don’t get to do…Few people know who I really am.  (In other words, I get selfish.) I get frustrated and confused and turn and ask, “How am I supposed to deal with this, Lord?”

The answer: “You’re not.”

It dawns upon me what He means…..I, Alex, a totally depraved, obstinate, wayward, lost sheep (thanks for the description, James N.) completely incapable of anything good or pure or godly, am not supposed to “do” anything.  I can’t!

Jesus, the perfect Lamb, who was slain for my sins and who conquered darkness, He is the one who is supposed to “do” anything.

My job is to let go, and let the Spirit fill me.  For “I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature.” (Galatians 5:16)

Spirit, fill me today and show me how to live not for myself.  Teach me to “do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than [myself].”  (Philippians 2:3)

Hallelujah! I can be victorious over my sins, desires, weaknesses, and struggles.  I’m not pining for deliverance; Christ has already shattered the shackles!  I just need to stand up and walk out of the cold dark dungeon of sin into the warmth and freedom of His glorious light.  “You, however, are controlled not by the sinful nature but by the Spirit, if the Spirit of God lives in you.” (Romans 8:9)

Live in us, Spirit!

Will you, brother, sister, father, mother, sally forth from that dungeon with me?  Will you stop returning to it in fear and confusion?  Will you stand every moment in the presence of the Light of the World?

For “Love has come/Love has come/
And it’s giving me hope to carry on.”  (Caedmon’s Call, “Hope to Carry On”)

Published in: on July 15, 2008 at 9:28 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2008/07/15/54/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Wow! Good thoughts!

    You are talking about sin in this post, but I think your words can apply to our hurts as well. I need to come out of my dark dungeon of hurt … I need to LET GO … I need to live in the Spirit and not in my pain! I’m starting to come out that dungeon … by the grace of God! Thanks for this reminder … it gives me a little extra push up those many, slippery, dark, dungeon stairs! God is faithful! 🙂


Leave a Reply

