My future, God’s leading

Sorry I haven’t blogged for a while!  With schoolwork and housework, I just don’t have time to update every day.  Or, I don’t have anything interesting to put in…

Let’s talk about future plans:  something that is much on my mind, since I’m a junior in high school.  I’m a bit unconventional, I suppose, in my way of planning. 

 

Call me weird, but I think that I might like to have a clear plan of action before I make my family blow $100,000 on college. 

Call me nuts, but I don’t think that college is the only way to prove that I’m intelligent. (That’s not to say college is wrong; it just receives a little too much prominence in my opinion)

Call me unconventional, but I think that I should let God plan what I do for the future.

 

The world tells me (in the form of college pamphlets, career testing, charts, diagrams, and so forth) to “follow your heart!”; “Do what you know—you know what you want”; “just dream and trust in yourself.”

 

God tells me (through His word and His people) “The heart is deceitful above all things” (Jeremiah 17:9), “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding” (Proverbs 3:5), and “Commit your way to the LORD. (Psalm 37:5a).”

 

This is why I decided to just let God tell me what to do.  Seeing as how He knows all that I’ve done, He knows what I am doing, and He knows what I will be doing, and I don’t know anything but the very second that I’m living in, it just made sense to trust Him.

Yes, I’ve been accused of inaction and yes, people have wondered if I actually know anything about what I’m going to do (to which I can reply, “Nope!  But God does.”)

 

Slowly but surely, in His perfect timing, he has shown me His plan for my life.  No, I don’t know everything yet (if I knew everything, how could I trust God?), but He has shown me things about myself that I didn’t even have an inkling of 2 years ago.

 

Unusual methods?  Yes.  Satisfactory methods?  Yes! 

 

Published in: on April 13, 2008 at 9:02 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bmhs.wordpress.com/2008/04/13/my-future-gods-leading/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

